The Coen Brothers' 'Inside Llewyn Davis' Trailer and Soundtrack Tracklist

Joel and Ethan Coen are two of the most prominant directors in the industry today. Known for their cult films (O Brother, Where Art Thou?, The Big Lebowski) as much as for their major award-winning affairs (Fargo, No Country for Old Men, True Grit), their stock is always high. Even when they release a minor picture like Burn After Reading or A Serious Man, the brothers Coen seem to never go out of favor with audiences or critics.

And if this new trailer for their upcoming Inside Llewyn Davis is any indication, they don’t look ready to give up that rare Hollywood distinction just yet. Starring Oscar Issac as the titular struggling folk musician in 1960s New York, the film has been a critical darling at the festivals and is receiving a wide release soon. Carey Mulligan, John Goodman, Justin Timberlake and Garrett Hedlund co-star.

The Film Stage has the newest trailer.

INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS follows a week in the life of a young folk singer as he navigates the Greenwich Village folk scene of 1961. Guitar in tow, huddled against the unforgiving New York winter, he is struggling to make it as a musician against seemingly insurmountable obstacles—some of them of his own making.

It’s a patient, meditative and moving trailer to be sure. Issac in particular looks to be turning in a career performance. The music obviously plays a huge role in the story and folk legend T-Bone Burnett worked with the Coens and Issac to arrange the score. TFS also has the track listing for what could be a hit soundtrack in the grand tradition of O Brother Where Art Thou?, Once and Crazy Horse.

The soundtrack will be out months in advance, on September 17th.

1. “Hang Me, Oh Hang Me” (Traditional; Arranged by T Bone Burnett) – Oscar Isaac
2. “Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song)” (Traditional; Arranged by Oscar Isaac and T Bone Burnett) – Marcus Mumford and Oscar Isaac
3. “The Last Thing on My Mind” (Tom Paxton) – Stark Sands
4. “Five Hundred Miles” (Hedy West) – Justin Timberlake, Carey Mulligan and Stark Sands
5. “Please Mr. Kennedy” (Ed Rush, George Cromarty, T Bone Burnett, Justin Timberlake, Joel Coen and Ethan Coen) – Oscar Isaac, Justin Timberlake and Adam Driver
6. “Green, Green Rocky Road” (Len Chandler and Robert Kaufman) – Oscar Isaac
7. “The Death of Queen Jane” (Traditional; Arranged by Oscar Isaac and T Bone Burnett) – Oscar Isaac
8. “The Roving Gambler” (Traditional) – John Cohen with the Down Hill Strugglers
9. “The Shoals of Herring” (Ewan MacColl) – Oscar Isaac
10. “The Auld Triangle” (Brendan Behan) – Chris Thile, Chris Eldridge, Marcus Mumford, Justin Timberlake and Gabe Witcher
11. “The Storms Are on the Ocean” (A.P. Carter) – Nancy Blake
12. “Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song) (Traditional; Arranged by Oscar Isaac and T Bone Burnett) – Oscar Isaac
13. “Farewell” (Bob Dylan) – Bob Dylan
14. “Green, Green Rocky Road” (Len Chandler and Robert Kaufman) – Dave Van Ronk

The picture will be released in the heat of the award season, on December 6th. I wouldn’t be surprised if it emerges a big contender come the Oscars.

Tags: Carey Mulligan Garrett Hedlund John Goodman Justin Timberlake Oscar Issac T Bone Burnett The Coen Brothers

comments powered by Disqus